Verse for the Month- Febuary 2016

So its time for a new verse for the month *cheering in the background*.  Basically a bit of background into how I choose the verse for the month, I think of a theme and then find a Bible verse around that theme.  So this month I really want to talk about the calling of the Holy Spirit, so I have a couple of posts that I want to talk about on that theme this month.  So the verse is from Ephesians 4 and it says:

As a prisoner for the Lord, I urge you to live a life worthy of the calling you have received.  Be humble and gentle; be patient, bearing with one another in love.  Make an effort to keep the unity of the Spirit through the bond of peace.

Ephesians 4v 1-3

This really got me thinking, what is my calling?  Personally I’m hoping to do a gap year in a church, because I feel called to do that.  Why is that?  Because since I’ve started writing this blog, I’ve realised that my favourite thing to do is write and talk about Jesus and how great he’s been in my life, how great he’s been in other peoples life and how that’s proved in the Bible.  How did I know that this was my calling?  Answer: I prayed.  And to those of you out there who don’t know what your calling is, you have to pray about it.  That’s really the only way to find out.  If you think that you have a calling but your not 100% sure, again pray, but remember that God tells us he will provide whatever the eventuality.  And that’s something that really makes me feel in awe, because there is no-one on earth who can provide for our every need, that is too much for one person but for God it is all possible.

So if you have a calling, how do you live a life that is worthy of that calling.  Because that is what this verse really challenges us to do.  You follow the guide above: be humble and patient, bear with each other in love.  Make an effort to show the Spirit by your actions.  Often you hear people say ‘I can really see the Holy Spirit in that person’.  And obviously they can’t literally see the Holy Spirit, but they can see the fruits of the Holy Spirit in that person: love, joy, peace, forbearance (restraint), kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness and self-control (found in Galatians 5 v22-23).  How do you make that clear in your life?  Make a memo in a place where you are likely to look often, use the picture at the top of the page and set it as your phone background, find a way that works best for you.

I hope that you guys find your calling if you haven’t already, and if you have, I pray that you can fulfil it to the best of your ability.  But whatever situation your in, pray to God for guidance about your situation because he really does provide.

God bless

One thought on “Verse for the Month- Febuary 2016

Leave a Reply

