Welcome Holy Spirit

Hey guys, I just wanted to share something that is always on my heart.  It’s the question of: when is the Holy Spirit with us?  How can we tell?  What does it feel like?

Well the first question is: why is this on my heart?  If I’m honest it’s just been something that’s got me thinking because it’s so rare, in my experience, to find ways in which we are certain the Holy Spirit is with us, especially if we are outside of a big Church service.  The bible app on my phone gives me a verse everyday and the other day it was 1 John v13-15. It says:

“This is how we know that we live in him and he in us: He has given us of his Spirit. And we have seen and testify that the Father has sent his Son to be the Savior of the world. If anyone acknowledges that Jesus is the Son of God, God lives in them and they in God.”

‭‭1 John‬ ‭4:13-15‬ ‭NIV‬‬

So what does this verse mean?  Well I think it shows that God, in the form of the Holy Spirit, lives in all of us that loves Jesus.

I think this is great, all we have to do to have the Holy Spirit in us is to love Jesus!

So to answer my first question, the Holy Spirit is always with us if we love Jesus.  The second question, how can we tell, is a bit harder to answer.  Sometimes it’s overt, like someone being healed.  But more often it’s less obvious.  But the Holy Spirit is always there even if you have regrets and moments your ashamed of.  It’s there in the good times and the bad times, whether your thinking of God or not.

And now to my third question, how does it feel?  Again the answer is it depends.  If you’ve ever felt the Holy Spirit in a really strong overt way then you know what it’s like.  From what I know it’s different from person to person but I often feel a physical presence like a touch or just the feeling of someone next to me followed by an immense calm.  Someone may have felt it differently, I know some people who release all their pain at once in floods of tears and shaking.  I can’t comment on what that feels like, because I’ve never witnessed it but I understand that many feel the same calm afterwards.

Everytime I think of the Holy Spirit I think of a song called ‘From the inside out’ and it details my prayer that I pray often:

My heart and my soul
I give you control
Consume me from the inside out Lord

Asking God to send his Holy Spirit upon is isn’t hard.  Remembering that the Holy Spirit is with us, is the hard part because its so hard to remember that it’s there when we are faced with life.  So find something that makes you think of the Holy Spirit.  It might mean changing your phones wallpaper to a biblical message.  Or every time you chew gum or suck a mint, you say a little prayer.  It can be simple, and you will often feel better by just saying a mental prayer that says ‘God I know your with me, help me get through this’, can mean that he comes and takes those worries and fears off our shoulders.  Why?  Because we are his children and he los us dearly.

God bless

Leave a Reply

