My Testimony

So today is a very special day.  It is the launch of Project T- T for Testimony.  Testimonies, I think, are one of the most important ways for us to see a clear example of Jesus’s love for us as he works in other peoples lives.  And some testimonies that you hear are really heart-wrenching as you read what people have been through to get to where they are.  When I hear other peoples testimonies, sometimes it makes me sit up and wonder why I moan about such trivial stuff.  Because people go through such hardships and we often don’t find out till long after the event, but what never ceases to amaze me is how they hung on to their faith even in those really tough days and came through with Gods help.  By comparison, my testimony is relatively boring, but it is something that I hope will encourage people that don’t have incredible testimonies to share theirs, and for anyone to share theirs.

So my testimony starts in 2013.  I’ve been going to Church since I was aged zero and always loved going, I made a great group of friends, and we are all really close.  But what really made me convinced of my faith was when I went to a camp called Soul Survivor, which is a Christian festival for young people.  In the first service, I went and truly committed myself to God.  Throughout those 5 days that I spent at Soul Survivor, I saw more miracles than I had in my entire life including healings and physical signs of the Holy Spirit moving among us.  On the second to last night, I was being prayed for and the guy (who was called William, who I never knew before or never spoke to after) who was praying for me had his hand on the back of my neck and another on my right shoulder.  As he prayed for me, I felt another hand rest on the crown of my head, yet there was no one else praying for me.  And I know people will claim that someone else came along and William just forgot.  But it didn’t feel like a normal hand, and as it touched me, I felt an immense calm come over me, the Holy Spirit was there.

Since 2013, I have been to Soul Survivor twice more, and although it wasn’t the same as the first time, it allowed me to learn more about God and his ways.  It also allowed me to pray for other people, which is such a great way to pray, when they’re right next to you and you know they’re going through such hardships, but there you can apply all your time and effort into praying for them.

It has also allowed me to get involved in church life, I’ve lead services and I’m hoping to do my first full preach this year.  But none of this would have been realised by me, had I not been prayed for by William.  And for that I am forever grateful.

God bless

Leave a Reply

