Worship music

Worship is a great way to get people interested in Church and God as well as keeping your faith alive between Sundays.  So many non-Christians assume that we sit in Church week in, week out singing ‘Jerusalem’ and ‘I vow to thee my country’ when the reality could not be further from this.  Although I appreciate that hymns are a great way to worship and I’m not discouraging anyone from singing hymns, there are (I think) more exciting and powerful songs to listen to.

All worship is a response to a revelation–it’s only as we breathe in more of the wonders of God that we can breathe out a fuller response to Him.

Matt Redman

I want to start by saying that just because you are a Christian it doesn’t mean you have to listen to worship music 24/7.  I listen to a lot of worship music but it’s not all I listen to.  Choosing what platform to listen to music can often make a lot of people give up!  There is so much choice now that people find a platform and stick with it, limiting their selection.  If your new to Christian music then I’d suggest searching something generic on YouTube, such as ‘Christian worship music’ and you have limitless videos that are 2-6 hours long.  Just listen to these and write down the names of the ones you like, which are often in the description of the video or use Siri to tell you what song is playing.  This will let you start a playlist on either iTunes or Spotify.  Both are free to set up however you have to pay for each individual song on iTunes, where as Spotify you don’t but you get a lot of adverts.  So it’s up to you but I personally use a mixture of both, paying for songs that I particularly like.

Worship must be: Christ centred, Holy Spirit led, a response to the Father, about intimacy and service.
Tim Hughes

I personally believe that we should worship God at other times than just on a Sunday morning.  Church is a great way to learn about worship music, particularly how to play it on your own.  I’m not particularly musically talented but a short session with a friend on the piano and a few online tutorials got me started.  I find it easy to sing a long whether I am playing along or just singing with music from my computer.  Some people say this isn’t ‘real worship’ but I believe it is, as the act of praising God through any means is worship.

In the end, worship can never be a performance, something you’re pretending or putting on. It’s got to be an overflow of your heart…Worship is about getting personal with God, drawing close to God.
Matt Redman
Some believe that worship is at its most powerful when you’re in a big Church service with hundreds or thousands around you with hundreds of speakers blasting at you.  Although I love this (and would hate for it to go) worshipping on your own or with a small group is often just as powerful as the large service, because people feel free to just stand up and say something that’s on their heart, which could be anything from a prayer request to a thought that God has given them to say.

Please leave a comment below, especially if you want to contact me about something I’ve said or something you want me to talk about.
Leave a Reply

